2000-01 NWC Men's Basketball Coaches Poll


2000-2001 Men's Basketball Coaches Pre-Season Poll:

School (1st) Pts. 2000 All 2000 NWC
Lewis & Clark (Ore.) (9) 90 21-6 15-1
Linfield (Ore.)   72 16-10 10-6
Whitworth (Wash.)   59 12-12 7-9
Willamette (Ore.)   53 15-10 9-7
Puget Sound (Wash.)   44 8-15 6-10
Pacific Lutheran (Wash.)   34 12-12 7-9
Pacific (Ore.)   26 16-9 11-5
Whitman (Wash.)   22 4-20 3-13
George Fox (Ore.)   14 8-16 4-12

(First-place votes in parenthesis. Points awarded on 10-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis).

Lewis & Clark Unanimous Choice to Repeat in 2000-01 NWC Men's Basketball Coaches

Defending champion Lewis & Clark College, led by their First Team All-Northwest Conference tandem of Scott Davis (Jr., G) and Colin Oriard (So., F), has been picked by Northwest Conference men's basketball coaches to repeat in 2000-2001. The Pioneers received all nine first place votes and a total of 90 ballot points.

Lewis & Clark won the title by four games last season, dethroning defending champion Linfield College. The Pioneers earned one of the conference's first-ever bids to the NCAA Division III playoffs, defeating NWC foe Pacific University 77-75 before losing 72-68 in the second round at Univ. of Wisconsin - Stevens Point.

Linfield College was a unanimous selection as the second place team. All nine second place votes gave the Wildcats 72 points in the poll.

Whitworth College was a narrow choice for third place, just ahead of Willamette University, which won the Northwest Conference tournament at the end of last season, but did not go to the NCAA tournament because the NWC did not have an automatic bid.

Puget Sound was selected fifth, while Pacific Lutheran was sixth. Pacific University, last season's NWC runner-up and the other school to earn one of the conference's first bids to the tournament, was picked seventh. Whitman College and George Fox University were selected eighth and ninth, respectively.

This season the Northwest Conference does have an automatic (Pool A) bid to the NCAA tournament. That bid will go to the winner of the NWC tournament. The top three teams in the conference will qualify for the NWC tournament. The third place team will play at the second place team. The winner will play at the conference champion for the right to the automatic bid. Regardless of that outcome, the regular-season winner will retain the title of conference champion.

Several teams begin play on November 17th.