Blues women, Pirates men go wire-to-wire at NWC Championships

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. — The Whitman Blues women and the Whitworth Pirates men went wire-to-wire at the Northwest Conference Championships to clinch the 2018 NWC title inside the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center. 

The women's 1650-yard freestyle kicked off the evening session as Evette Dow of Linfield cruised to her third title of the weekend, finishing the long-distance swim with a time of 17:37.91. The men's race saw Dylan Reimers of Puget Sound win his second title of the weekend with a NCAA B Time of 16:04.99.

Hannah Galbraith swam to a Northwest Confrence titel in the 200-yard backstroke posting a NCAA B Time of 2:02.89, before a battle of Whitworth men highlighted the men's 200-backstroke. The men's backstroke final saw Patrick Wilber outtouch his Whitworth teammate Byron Rossmiller for the conference championship. Wilber earned the NWC record and meet record with his time of 1:46.63, which also earned him a NCAA Select Time. Rossmiller's 1:47.22 was also a NCAA Select Time.

Whitman's Zoë Hill earned her second individual title of the weekend with a 52.84 in the 100-yard freestyle, while her teammate Tara Stahlecker touched second at 52.85.

Whitman's Clark Sun completed an incredible feat in the men's 100-yard freestyle as he won his fourth Northwest Conference championship in the event. Sun's victory came with a NCAA Select Time of 44.91.

Miranda Williams of Whitman and Jamie Siegler of Whitworth recorded B Times in the 200-yard breaststroke, with Williams winning the conference title at 2:22.48, while Siegler touched at 2:22.69.

The Pirates' Ryan Grady won his second individual title of the meet as he recorded a B-Time in the 200-yard breaststroke, finishing at 2:04.59.

Pacific Lutheran's Kaycee Simpson eased to victory in the 200-yard butterfly final, winning by over two seconds when she touched the wall at 2:05.02 for a B-Time.

Linfield's Noah Cutting won the men's 200-yard butterfly by an even more impressive mark as he outtouched the runner-up by over five seconds. Cutting's 1:48.86 was a NCAA Select Time.

The evenings races concluded with the 400-yard freestyle relay, which saw the Whitman women put their conference team title on ice as Mara Selznick, Gaby Thomas, Hill and Stahlecker finished with a time of 3:31.77.

Whitman's men won the 400-freestyle relay, as well, finishing with a time of 3:05.96. The Blues' relay was comprised of Jared Sears, Colin Aslett, Noah Schlenk and Sun.

Whitman won the women's title with 614.5 team points, while Pacific Lutheran finished second at 551.5 and Puget Sound's 457 was good for third. Linfield finished fourth at 441, Whitworth was fifth with 396.5 and Lewis & Clark was sixth with 302.5. Willamette and Pacific finished seventh and eighth, respectively, with the Bearcats earning 297 points and the Boxers at 135.

The Whitworth men finished with 665.5 team points, while Whitman finished with 489 and Linfield notched 460.5 to finish third. The Lutes were fourth at 448, Puget Sound's 323 was good for third and the Lewis & Clark Pioneers were sixth at 302. Willamette finished seventh at 299 and Pacific was eighth at 164.

NWC Men's Swimmer of the Year: Noah Cutting, Linfield

NWC co-Women's Swimmer of the Year: Kelli Callahan, Puget Sound 

NWC co-Women's Swimmer of the Year: Evette Dow, Linfield

NWC Men's Freshman of the Year: Ryan Grady, Whitworth

NWC Women's Freshman of the Year: Kaycee Simpson, Pacific Lutheran

NWC Men's Coach of the Year: Steve Schadt, Whitworth

NWC Women's Coach of the Year: Jennifer Blomme, Whitman