Whitworth men continue to lead, Linfield women move into first in day three of NWC Championships

Whitworth men continue to lead, Linfield women move into first in day three of NWC Championships

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. – The Whitworth men continue to hold a heavy lead, while the Linfield women move into first at the conclusion of day three of the NWC Swimming Championships. The Pirates currently have 452.5 points, while the Wildcats have a narrow six-point lead over Whitman with 370 points.

Saturday evening kicked off with Puget Sound’s Kelli Callahan recording a select time of 4:26.70 in the women’s 400 individual medley to take first for the second year in a row. Whitman’s Bella White was just under six seconds behind Callahan with a 4:32.49 mark, while Linfield’s Kaedi Fry touched the wall in 4:38.21 to take third. 

For the men, Whitworth’s Byron Rossmiller was the champion in the 400-yard individual medley with a 4:11.04 time, with Whitman’s Fisher Munro taking second with a 4:11.94, and Linfield’s Zachary Sherlock finishing in 4:16.28 to take third. 

In a tight women’s 100-yard butterfly race, Pacific Lutheran’s Kaycee Simpson and Linfield’s Vianka Hoyer both recorded select times, with Simpson beating her 2018 Championship time with a 56.05, and Hoyer just .03 behind with a 56.08 mark. Lutes teammate Bailey Hamilton finished in third with a 57.85 time.

The men’s 100-yard butterfly came down to the wire with Linfield’s Noah Cutting taking first with a select time of 48.67, and Whitworth’s Eben Schumann just .09 behind with a select time of 48.76. Lewis & Clark’s Kyle Monteleone took third with a 50.90 finish.

Callahan recorded a B-time in the women’s 200-yard freestyle with a 1:52.33 mark, followed by Linfield’s Evette Dow in second with a 1:53.21, and Whitman’s Abbey Falley with a 1:54.69 finish.

Puget Sound had two swimmers finish in the top three of the men’s 200-yard freestyle, with Brett Kolb taking first with a 1:41.52 and Dylan Reimers finishing third with a 1:42.07. Whitworth’s Finn McClone finished in 1:41.61 to take second.

In a close women’s 100-yard breaststroke race, Whitworth’s Jamie Siegler set a new NWC all-time record with her select time 1:03.62 finish, edging Whitman’s Becca Hoffman’s 1:04.67 finish. Blues teammate Miranda Williams finished third with a 1:04.82 mark. 

The Pirates led the men’s 100-yard breaststroke, with Ryan Grady finishing first with a B-time of 55.95 and teammate Owen Lempert taking third with a 57.12 mark. Linfield’s Trevor Gourley swam a 56.57 to take second.

Whitworth’s Hannah Galbraith and Whitman’s Mara Selznick both swam B-times in the women’s 100-yard backstroke to take first and second, respectively. Galbriath finished in 56.60 and Selznick just .08 behind in 56.68. Linfield’s Molli Hartzell finished third with a 57.77 mark.

Whitworth’s Byron Rossmiller was the champion in the men’s 100-yard backstroke with a 50.55 mark, followed by Linfield’s Daisuke Fitial with a 50.72 finish, and Pacific Lutheran’s Jacob Goodman with a 51.43 mark 

The evening concluded with the Linfield women and Whitworth men swimming to a 200-yard freestyle relay first-place finish. The Wildcats swam a 1:36.95, while the Pirates recorded a 1:24.28 finish.

Team Results (at conclusion of day 3)


School Pts.
Linfield 370
Whitman 364
Whitworth 337
Pacific Lutheran 290
Puget Sound 257
Lewis & Clark 231
Willamette 173
George Fox 152
Pacific (Ore.) 82


School Pts.
Whitworth 452.5
Linfield 324
Whitman 286
Puget Sound 272
Lewis & Clark 219
Pacific Lutheran 216
Willamette 179
George Fox 174.5
Pacific (Ore.) 97